FUDforum
Fast Uncompromising Discussions. FUDforum will get your users talking.

Home » FUDforum Development » Bug Reports » SQL bug in default theme
Show: Today's Messages :: Unread Messages :: Show Polls :: Message Navigator
| Subscribe to topic | Bookmark topic 
Switch to threaded view of this topic Create a new topic Submit Reply
SQL bug in default theme [message #34873] Tue, 21 November 2006 10:49 Go to next message
jyoder is currently offline  jyoder   United States
add to buddy list
ignore all messages by this user
I stumbled across this bug in 2.7.6 when trying to register a new test user on my new forum. I've never used FUDforum before so this is a fresh install using Postgres as the database.

The SQL error was a bit cryptic, but it looks like the fix is pretty simple. Basically it looks like the parenthesis in the WHILE statement got a bit mixed up. I'm pretty confident my patch fixes both cases, but the COALESCE is what executes in my case so I couldn't test both.

What I did was remove the second closing parenthesis after the COALESCE (so the >0 applies to that and not the entire WHILE statement), added a second opening parenthesis before the (g1.group_cache_opt so that I could add a closing parenthesis after the >0. Okay, maybe I shouldn't have tried to explain it in english Smile

Here's a diff between the original index.php and my patched one:

diff -ru ./forum.orig/theme/default/index.php ./forum/theme/default/index.php
--- ./forum.orig/theme/default/index.php   2006-11-21 08:26:40.000000000 -0700
+++ ./forum/theme/default/index.php    2006-11-21 08:22:43.000000000 -0700
@@ -147,7 +147,7 @@
                        ((!$is_a || $cat_id) ?  ' WHERE ' : '') .
-                       ($is_a ? '' : (_uid ? ' (mo.id IS NOT NULL OR (COALESCE(g2.group_cache_opt, g1.group_cache_opt))' : ' (g1.group_cache_opt').' & 1)>0') .