FUDforum
Fast Uncompromising Discussions. FUDforum will get your users talking.

Home » FUDforum Development » Plugins and Code Hacks » SEO url mods question
Show: Today's Messages :: Polls :: Message Navigator
Return to the default flat view Create a new topic Submit Reply
SEO url mods question [message #168637] Wed, 12 June 2013 10:48 Go to previous message
elmer_fudd is currently offline  elmer_fudd   United States
hi,

I am new to fudforum but not new to php. i installed fudforum a few days ago and after it was running it came to my slow brain that i needed more search engine friendly urls. it already has traffic coming to it and i need to hurry and make this change. it is indexed by google and it is a pain to have a bunch of urls indexed and then change them.

anyway, i find myself trying to comb through a ton of code to find what i need. i have basically switched to the path_info template and have everything running like it should. i found this post (i cant use links yet) fudforum.org/forum/index.php?t=msg&goto=162567&&srch=seo+links# msg_162567 and used it as a guide... or am trying to. i changed the code more like this

$_seo_forum_name = $r[10];
$_seo_forum_name = strtolower($_seo_forum_name);
$_seo_forum_name = strip_tags($_seo_forum_name);
$_seo_forum_name = html_entity_decode($_seo_forum_name);
$_seo_forum_name = urldecode($_seo_forum_name);
$_seo_forum_name = trim($_seo_forum_name);
$_seo_forum_name = preg_replace('/ +/', ' ', $_seo_forum_name);
$_seo_forum_name = preg_replace('/[^A-Za-z0-9\s]/', '', $_seo_forum_name);
$_seo_forum_name = preg_replace('/ /', '-', $_seo_forum_name);

in www/forum/theme/path_info/index.php.

then in index.php i found where /f/ is used like here

'<a href="'.(empty($r[12]) ? './f/'.$r[7].'/'._rsid

and changed it to something like this

'<a href="'.(empty($r[12]) ? './f/'.$r[7].'/'._rsid.$_vcb_forum_name